slideshow banner


The 2018 annual Poetry Contest also saw the first awarding of the Malovrh-Fenlon Poetry Prize ($500 and recognition for the First-Place winning poem in the annual Poetry Contest). The prize is named for two women who had a major influence on the people who decided to live on Orchard Street:

Before they were wives, mothers, and grandmothers, Louise Malovrh and Claire Fenlon were young women who loved poetry; and, though they never had the opportunity to study poetry in any formal sense, they never let that passion fade. And even as life caught them up in the labors of their every day, they passed that love of poetry on to their children and, through them, into the expanding worlds of their families and beyond where that love still flourishes and grows to this day. The Orchard Street Press proudly names its annual Poetry Prize to recognize and extend their gift.  Winners are identified below.


Winners of the Malovrh-Fenlon Poetry Prize

2018: Lew Forester of Arvada, CO

2019: Glen Mazis of Marietta, PA

2020: Bob Wickless of Reidsville, NC

2021: Mary Makofske of Warwick, NY

2022: Robert Milby of Florida, NY